Portfolio APAC

Phnom Penh, Cambodia

Back to the overview
Place

Phnom Penh, Cambodia

Funding period

2010-2017 & 2020-2025

Support
Technology Funding Expertise

About the project

AEC is a non-profit organization founded in 2003, providing hearing care to children from low-income families, educating audiologists and hearing care staff. Our Foundation has been supporting this partner since 2010. AEC employs 23 staff and two volunteers in five clinics. 

 

The five clinics, some of which are located in rural areas, enable the project to provide consistent audiological services to Cambodian children. The team puts a strong focus on capacity building and collaboration with other NGOs, hospitals and the Ministry of Health. 

 

In the coming years, they will scale up and cover the entire care continuum (screenings, diagnostics, fitting, auditory habilitation, family support, capacity building for local teams), introducing newborn screenings and auditory-verbal therapy to their services. 

 

Project objectives

Comprehensive audiological care 

Local capacity building through clinical infrastructure and process development 

Continuous training of local staff

Impact and achievements

One of the main goals of this project is to develop a pediatric hearing aid fitting protocol. Through extensive training in Real Ear Measurement to obtain the optimal hearing improvement, the clinical team was able to strengthen their skills in fitting hearing aids to children. The training was provided remotely by volunteers from our Foundation.


In the past years, the AEC clinic in Phnom Penh has expanded its reach and become increasingly regarded as a community clinic, with services that are well utilized and respected.
 

Key achievements in 2021/22: 

children fitted

people trained

Portfolio APAC

Phnom Penh, Kambodscha

Zurück zur Übersicht
Ort

Phnom Penh, Kambodscha

Förderzeitraum

2010-2017 & 2020-2025

Support
Technologie Finanzierung Fachwissen

Über das Projekt

All Ears Cambodia (AEC) wurde 2003 als gemeinnützige Organisation gegründet. Sie bietet Kindern aus Familien mit geringem Einkommen Zugang zur Hörversorgung und bildet Audiologen und audiologische Fachkräfte aus. Seit 2010 unterstützt HTWF die Organisation, die 23 Mitarbeitende und zwei Ehrenamtliche beschäftigt.

 

In den fünf Kliniken, die AEC auch in ländlichen Gebieten betreibt, versorgt unser Projektpartner kambodschanische Kinder mit audiologischen Angeboten. Das Team konzentriert sich vor allem auf den Ausbau der vorhandenen Kapazitäten sowie die Zusammenarbeit mit anderen NGOs, Krankenhäusern und dem Gesundheitsministerium.

 

In den kommenden Jahren möchte AEC ihre Services erweitern und das gesamte Versorgungskontinuum (Vorsorge, Diagnostik, Behandlung, Nachversorgung, Unterstützung von Familien, Aufbau von lokalen Kapazitäten) abdecken. Zu den neuen Angeboten werden auch Neugeborenen-Screenings und auditiv-verbale Therapie gehören.  

Projektziele

Ganzheitliche Hörversorgung 

Aufbau lokaler Kapazitäten durch klinische Infrastruktur und Prozessentwicklungen  

Kontinuierliche Weiterbildung von Mitarbeitenden

Wirkung und Erfolge

Eines der Hauptziele des Projektes ist es, ein pädiatrischen Protokoll zur Hörgeräteanpassung zu entwickeln. Dank intensiven Trainings im Real Ear Measurement zur optimalen Anpassung von Hörgeräten bei Kindern konnte das Klinik-Team seine Kompetenzen bereits ausbauen. Das Training wurde online von Volunteers unserer Stiftung durchgeführt.

 

In den vergangenen Jahren konnte die AEC-Klinik in Phnom Penh ihre Reichweite ausbauen. Sie hat sich inzwischen durch regelmässig genutzte Dienstleistungen als angesehene Gemeinschaftsklinik etabliert.

 

Erfolge 2021/22: 

Kinder mit Hörgeräten versorgt

Personen geschult